Happy Birthday Laura Ingalls Wilder!

220px-Laura_Ingalls_Wilder

Here’s where I ignore my homework to pay homage to one of my all time favourite authors on her birthday. Laura Ingalls Wilder, you’re the bomb.

The (embarassing) photo below attests to my life long obsession.

Some things you should know: this is me, at nine-years old. It’s safe to assume that by that time, I had read ALL of the Little House books at least three times (I was really big into reading things multiple times as a child, don’t ask why…) and I had probably also read every other related spin-off that was published at the time. I first received Little House in the Big Woods at Christmas presumably a year or two before this, and tore through the entire thing that day while my siblings were busy playing with their new toys and eating delicious food. After that, there was no stopping me. Oh, how I pined to have been born in that time! Weird, I know.

Anyways, this photo was taken on Halloween, 1998. I decided that I NEEDED to be Laura Ingalls Wilder for Halloween, and as you might guess, that is definitely not the type of costume one can purchase at the last minute. My mom sewed this baby, bonnet and all. And, in case you’re wondering, my friends thought it was awesome. And yes, they did trick or treat with me, and they were still my friends afterwards.

So, here it is. Today, I wish Laura Ingalls Wilder a very happy birthday by unveiling this embarrassing beauty of a photo to the internet world. Enjoy, but don’t mock.

photo-3

One response to “Happy Birthday Laura Ingalls Wilder!

Leave a Reply

