February Schmebruary.

I’ve been feeling uninspired this week, but I promised myself to blog weekly, so here I am. Historically, February is a lame-o month for my family. It is the month that people die in. I know, that sounds terrible, but unfortunately, it’s true for us. True to form, this weekend we lost my Grandma to pancreatic cancer.

Despite the February doldrums, life goes on, and school goes on. School was unremarkable this week– we only had one day of classes, and nothing too exciting happened in them.  At the end of the day on Tuesday I realized that I have officially made it through the first half of my first semester and it’s now reading break! Sadly, there will have to be some reading and work of course, but I am looking forward to taking some breaks to relax too. There will be some family time of course, and I’ll be happy to see my cousins (and the babies!) even though it will be a sad occasion.

I’m signing off with this song, because it means a lot to me. I’ll never forget hearing this song at my Papa’s funeral, and I’ll never forget the way it made me feel. It’s a teary song that gives me the chills every time I hear it, but I love it anyways.  This song just might be the closest I’ll ever get to tangibly capturing that feeling of knowing that someone is a part of you, even if they’re gone.

Leave a Reply

