The Sunflower

Here is my latest try with Audacity! It’s been a busy week so far (and it’s only Wednesday!), but I’ve managed to squeeze in some storytelling practice. So far, my biggest challenge is with speaking  s  l  o  w  l  y.  That’s nothing new. As a child, my piano recitals involved me playing a song as quickly as was physically possible, an abbreviated and rushed bow, and then me scurrying off the stage, again, as quickly as possible. My sister was always better at being all artistic and flow-y like. I have a tendency to get caught up in just getting things done. This is good practice for me. Maybe it will help me with my pacing when I’m running too, because I’m not so great at that either.

Also, sound mixing is a lot more complex than I anticipated! It’s hard to find a perfect balance between tracks, and you could work away for ages before being completely and totally satisfied with your end product. Alas, here is my latest story, where I did my best to speak   s  l  o  w  l  y   and to use softer sounds in the background. Enjoy!

3 responses to “The Sunflower

  1. Beautiful story! I think you did a wonderful job of speaking slowly! The sea noise was wonderful, it really brought me into the story!

  2. Lovely story, Danielle, and a terrific job of telling. You should feel great about your pacing now. It allowed the listener to be drawn into the story. Nice job mixing (I like the sun sound effect; it sounded scintillating like the sun. Where did you find this story. I like it. Could you send it to me? Thanks!

    • Thank-you professor! This story was actually one of the one-minute tales you provided in the pre-course module under the “Meet Your Rehearsal Buddy” section.

Leave a Reply

