I Write in Blood

How fitting that while working on my online class content to avoid starting my creative writing assignment for another class that I happen upon this article:

“Why the Best Kids Books are Written in Blood” by Sherman Alexie. 

I loved The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian, but I loooove this article about 500 million times more. In fact, I can’t stop reading it and sharing it. I’ve already posted it to twitter and facebook, so my blog is due for a post too, obviously. I can’t stop reading these two sentences at the very end of it where he describes why he writes for teenagers:

“I write to give them weapons–in the form of words and ideas-that will help them fight their monsters. I write in blood because I remember what it felt like to bleed.”

Aaaah! I can’t even handle it. It gives me butterflies and it makes me want to jump up and down all while simultaneously envisioning myself sinking deep into the “blood” of my own childhood and teenage years.

Am I being coherent right now? Who knows. I’m too worked up about this I think…

All I know is I need to print this article and I need that quote staring me in the face while working on my manuscript for LIBR 524 (Writing and Publishing for the Children’s Book Trade).

Yikes. Motivation has a funny way of creeping up on us, doesn’t it?

Leave a Reply

